greg_penn67

Changing layout to open plan

Greg Penn
9 år siden
Hi there,
I'm looking at a potential house purchase - a beautiful (but tired) Victorian terrace. It feels like the right layout for us because I could open it up without the additional expense of a side return extension in a more traditional terraced layout. My plan would be to keep the rooms where they are, but take down the walls between the lounge/kitchen and kitchen/diner. Ideally removing the l-shape out of the hallway too opening the space right up. They're solid walls so would require steels etc.
My plan then would be to have a large island extending into the dining area that would still have space for a table. do you think this would give enough worktop space and kitchen storage - as I'm obviously taking down the internal walls. Any alternative thoughts very welcome! It's my first project and we're currently renting so can't knock anything about and we crave a big, open space.

Thanks!
Greg

(18) kommentarer

• Greg Penn
    Forfatter
    9 år siden
    That's great Thanks. Im trying to visualize how much kitchen space there will be but looks like it would work. Thanks!
  • PRO
    Thomas de Cruz Architects & Designers
    9 år siden
    I would knock down the WC, knock the rear rooms together and built a full width extension incorporating the current utility room. The utility room is occupying 'zone A' space on the garden at the moment and you are not able to appreciate the full width of the plot. The utility should be put somewhere internal.
  • mointerior
    9 år siden
    Hi can you swap things around? And do you want the whole downstair as open plan?
  • Greg Penn
    Forfatter
    9 år siden
    @Thomas de cruz. - Thanks for this, though I feel that this would be massively more expensive than just opening up the two walls and would be out of our budget unfortunately.. also, Im not really sure we actually need more space?
  • Greg Penn
    Forfatter
    9 år siden