jacey_eve

Pressed metal kitchen splashbacks

Jacey Eve
8 år siden

Hi, I'm loving the look of pressed metal for splashbacks but I'm wary of getting stuck with something that is hard to clean. Has anyone got experience of day to day real life with pressed metal? (I don't believe house stylists or people selling the stuff!!). What if it is painted? Have you found a good and scrubbable (can't believe that's a word) paint? Would be having it behind the stove too so needs to be a non fussy clean... What do you think?

Oh also, there's a window and window sill behind the sink, so I'll need to figure out if a cut out for the window would be any issue.

(17) kommentarer

• PRO
    Larkspur Lane Design
    8 år siden

Hi there, I am a house stylist (sorry!), but also a practical type that is cynical of trend-driven renovations. Being a bumpy surface, you are not going to get away from the difficulty of cleaning pressed metal on a splashback. It would be even more difficult painted. If you are fond of the look, consider using some panels somewhere else in the house with less mess. around a fireplace, as a feature wall, or dare I say it, as it's original purpose! It is also a very prominent feature so likely to clash with other design elements. Call me a design snob, but I think that anything that has been done on The Block has been done once too often!! If you like the idea of a pattern on the splashback, what about some subtley coloured encaustic tiles? If they are sealed, the finish will be a lot easier to clean (being cement they would probably be fine behind cookers too!). Good luck :)

Jacey Eve thanked Larkspur Lane Design
  • daniellewoodhous
    8 år siden

I have a pressed tin splash back. We chose not to have it painted as I liked the silver look. I painted it with a clear varnish and it is absolutely fine and easy to clean. It was also way cheaper than any of the other splash back options.

Jacey Eve thanked daniellewoodhous
  • PRO