emmelinewe

POLL: Thoughts on bespoke bricks and mortar?

Emmeline Westin
8 år siden
sidst ændret:8 år siden

Deciding on which type of brick you want for your home has become as complicated as choosing which paint colour to go for. They even have evocative names! Chablis, Smoked Montana, Tartufo are some examples of bespoke brick (not quite Elephant's Breath territory, but getting there). But how interesting or important is it?

If you are or were to change the bricks and mortar of your home, would you go down the bespoke or designer route? Which combo would you go for?

North Road, exterior view · Mere information

Love it!
Don't like it
Other - tell us below!

(15) kommentarer

• Tom Flanagan
    8 år siden

I'm no expert on the different types of brick, but one thing I do know is that I love it! Although I have to say, I might just prefer it on an interior wall...

• Andrew Millar
    8 år siden
    noticed recently in some new developments, that the mortar is similar in colour to the brick.looks really smart. especially if the bricks are made to look aged.
  • kaseycoff
    8 år siden

Before we met my husband had designed a house for which he chose bespoke bricks; they were heavily textured (extruded) and of a special deep brown / earthen colour. The mortar was also a deep brown, almost charcoal in tone. It worked well and looked very nice - but I daresay a more standard combination, carefully chosen, would have worked every bit as well. So no, I would not pay the exorbitant cost to have customized bricks. Given the extensive variety of colour combinations and styles that are available pre-made, selecting customized brick smacks of pretension to me. (I do not, however, tell my husband I see it as somewhat pretentious--!)

• angelboyman
    8 år siden