chriskingarcher

Interior Design: Conflict of styles - Modern Vs. Traditional

Chris K
7 år siden

I would like to know if there are any interior designers who say 'no' to mixing styles...such as modern and traditional.

My example is a chandelier (modern) and a ceiling medallion (traditional), see attached picture. Is this always wrong? Or are there exceptions. Lastly what is your personal opinion of the pictured example.

Thank you!

(12) kommentarer

• midcenturymoderngirl
    7 år siden

I think that looks pretty cool. but No, not a designer by trade.

• Chris K
    Forfatter
    7 år siden

Thank you. I just wasn't sure at how compatible the two were together.

Chandelier - Anastasia Leaf by Warehouse of Tiffany
    Medallion- 28-3/8 in. O.D. Benson Classic Ceiling Medallion by Ekena Millwork

• PRO
    The Kitchen Abode Ltd.
    7 år siden

Not may area of strength but I find that the medallion seems too large for the fixture or the fixture is too small for the medallion. They seem to be competing for attention versus complimenting or contrasting each other.

Graham

• PRO
    The Kitchen Abode Ltd.
    7 år siden

Carole - I think your example works because there are other additional modern elements in the room versus just the light fixture. The traditional and modern elements are balanced out so as to create a great contrast between them. Saw this approach on a trip to London UK last month and was very very impressed on how the two styles could work so well together when done right.

Graham

• User
    7 år siden

I like it;)

• PRO
    Cutting Edge Door and Trim
    7 år siden

I think you've found a unique look that will work perfectly! It's definitely something someone would remember about your home and love.

• PRO
    Kitchens Plus
    7 år siden