ryandand

Ideas on opening up Kitchen

ryandand
7 år siden

My wife and I are purchasing our first home, and it is definitely in need of some updates. I'm not experienced in remodeling, and would love some advice from the folks here on Houzz that are more knowledgable than I am!
One of the first things we are hoping to tackle is a kitchen remodel. I would like to see if there is a good way to open up the kitchen more by taking out a large closet/walls that separate the kitchen from the family room.
Here is a link to the virtual tour of the house: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=QfzbFWBHog6

I'm wondering about the feasibility of knocking out that big closet next to the kitchen, and moving the refrigerator to the other side of the kitchen on the left side of the sink. If the entire wall behind the refrigerator is removed, maybe we can extend the countertops through where the refrigerator is currently and have a nice open view in to the living room.
I'd love to hear from more experienced people about whether this sounds like it could work, or whether it would be worth doing (in terms of potential cost/value added to the house).

Thanks for reading and for your advice!

(4) kommentarer

• CLC
    7 år siden
    Sidst ændret: {last_modified_time}7 år siden

Congrats on your new home! Do you know if the walls are load bearing? I would get an engineer involved before anything else, to determine what you are working with. It also looks like you have the HVAC return in that wall, which would need to be rerouted (and not rerouted to kitchen location).

ryandand thanked CLC
  • smit2380
    7 år siden

Congratulations on the new house. It is hard to tell over the internet whether and how many load bearing walls are impacted (and what is in the walls). That will significantly impact costs. If it were me, I would live there 6 months before starting any large remodel projects. You get better ideas about what you really want to change after you live in the space for awhile.