emma_wilson75

Garden makeover advice

Emma Wilson
6 år siden

Hi all!
I am an absolute novice with the whole garden thing.
The garden is good size area (approx 50ft x 15 ft) to play with. BUT not a lot of budget.

I would love to have a contemporary feel, with low maintenance. Happy to do as much of the work as possible! Photo's are best I have at the moment. I've cleared a lot of the overhanging shrubs recently. And discovered more slabs at the end of the garden.

I believe the 'flower' bed on the right would extend under the shed.

Any ideas of making the most of this space would be hugely appreciated :)

(PS, i'm in the UK)

(5) kommentarer

• Patrina
    6 år siden
    A few ideas to mull over
  • Patrina
    6 år siden
    A few ideas to mull over
  • PRO
    User
    6 år siden

I do love the new paints for fences in greys and even black, which add to a contemporary feel.

• PRO
    Oxford Garden Design
    6 år siden

Something like this could work well? I agree with blacks and greys adding to the contemporary feel.

• PRO
    Rory Andrews Landscape Design
    6 år siden

Hi Emma

The first task in designing a garden is to decide what you want from a garden functionally. The first thing to do is work out where north, south, east and west are. This may define where you want to have your seating area/s. Most people have a terrace by the house, so that they can bring food easily from the kitchen, plus the hard surface of stone/brick/gravel can make the terrace feel like an extension of the house, as well as linking the house with the rest of the garden.

People will often have a second terrace if it picks up the morning or evening sun, so that they can have a spot to enjoy an evening drink after work, or breakfast in the summer. Then one should think about a path linking these two terraces, as well as any storage area such as a shed or garage.