smugsprinkleddonut

help with rental backyard/outdoor space

Hi guys!

So I recently moved into an apartment with a backyard space. This apartment is the top floor of a house. Another apartment is on the bottom floor. The people below me have ownership over the front/back porches but the backyard is a shared space. I have gotten the go-ahead to garden/decorate/etc.

This is my first time with any kind of outdoor space so I'm at a loss on how to decorate it on a budget. I would like an outdoor space where I can relax, read a book, have friends over, etc. Maybe diy a little patio? Hang up some lights?

The steps you see are the steps leading to my apartment. I want to make that space more welcoming... make it look more like an entrance to my home rather than the downstair's neighbors' attic. I'm thinking about laying some plastic stones out to the curb and line it with lights. Any other ideas?

Thanks!!

(5) kommentarer

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    6 år siden

"... plastic stones out to the curb and line it with lights ..." There wouldn't be any way anyone could comment on this idea without seeing the entire path of which you speak. The close-up picture cannot explain the context.

"Read a book" and "have friends over" definitely sound like a patio. We have no idea of your budget but since you're renting, you'll want to be conservative. Fairly economical is some patio stones on a sand base. Dirt cheap is an old, discarded carpet. Sometimes it's used right side up; sometimes upside down.