heathsky1231

do I use different size cabinet pulls for larger drawers?

marie armstrong
6 år siden

I have drawers that range in size. some very large and some quite small. Do I need to vary the size of the cabinet pulls? To me the different sizes don't seem aesthetically pleasing but I am not an proficient at any of this. Would just like some opinions on what some options are. Also, could I put knobs on smaller drawers and put the same size cabinet pull on the larger drawers?

(9) kommentarer

• PRO
    Jake Spurgeon, AKBD
    6 år siden
    Definitely use different size pulls. I always recommend this to my clients! The hardware should be proportionate to the size of the door/drawer.
  • PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    6 år siden

I agree it is always the best look IMO.

• simstress
    6 år siden
    Agree with above. For reference, I used 13" pulls on 36" drawers. I don't like knobs and didn't install any.
  • janedoe2012
    6 år siden
    If the drawers are stacked, and the same width, I would not do different lengths. But a beefier pull on a taller drawer, sure. Longer pulls on a different set of drawers, sure.

I think variation in pulls (that makes sense) would definitely add a more custom element. And think about it - you would never put the same size pull on a paneled sub-zero as you would on a small drawer, right? Form follows function.

P.S. I don't think anyone was suggesting different lengths on stacked doors, but figured it couldn't hurt to clarify.
  • acm
    6 år siden

I'll argue the other way -- I like all the same size pulls for uniformity. If a drawer is very long, it's better handled with two pulls anyway. Exception is the crazy small drawer (like 6" or 9") that pretty much has to have a smaller pull in order to use one at all. It may depend on the style of your house too.

(That last photo is the only smaller pull in my kitchen.)

• marie armstrong
    Forfatter
    6 år siden