webuser_539412515

How much to remove built ins?

E B
2 år siden
sidst ændret:2 år siden

Just closed on a house that has built ins with glass shelves and some kind of metal or laminate doors. They are white but very discolored. They are not at all our style, and we are getting quotes to paint them for several thousands. I'd rather just get rid of them but have no idea how to do that. Who does that kind of work? How much should it cost?

This is the only picture I have currently - from the listing so not my stuff and more flattering than they appear in person. There is a wood base that attach them to the wall but then the doors appear to be this metal or laminate material.

Edited to add: It is my first time posting here, so apologies if this is the wrong topic area.

(30) kommentarer

• jck910
    2 år siden

Pricing depends on location. Post a picture maybe someone on here can tell how they are installed on give you better advice

• E B
    Forfatter
    2 år siden

Thank you. Just added photo.

• shirlpp
    2 år siden

I assume that you want to remove the doors and glass and bring it back to a blank wall?

• E B
    Forfatter
    2 år siden

Yes, just restore it a "regular" wall.

• shirlpp
    2 år siden

From the photo the unit looks shallow. IMO a handyman who works with doors, trim and electric should be able to do the job. I was on a site today looking for a handyman and 2 wanted $50.00 per hour and another wanted $150.00 per hour - go figure.

E B thanked shirlpp
  • houssaon
    2 år siden
    Sidst ændret: {last_modified_time}2 år siden

How handy are you? You could take the doors off by unscrewing the hinges, The shelves should be easy to remove. Carefully pry the molding off. Then brake down the boxes. You might have to have the drywall repaired.

Maybe once you take the doors off, you can use the units as bookcases.

E B thanked houssaon
  • Mama Cita
    2 år siden

Keep n mind that the flooring underneath will need to be addressed.