shornery

Yay or Nay - Dark wooden kitchen floor

Simon Hornery
10 år siden
I am considering using either a dark wood or wood style tile in my kitchen but have been told it is a nightmare living with dark floors in a kitchen. I'd like to see what other people's experiences and thoughts are.

(148) kommentarer

• PRO
    User
    10 år siden
    As a Designer I educate my clients that whatever tone of wood flooring is used in any room is should be darker than walls, ceilings or the furnishings, why? It's simple us human beings thousands of years ago used to walk the earth through forests and mountains and if you notice the soil is always darker than the surroundings 95% of the time. Therefore, our brains are wired subconsciously to be calmer and more relaxed when the ground beneath our feet is darker. Take the Hood Canal Residence Project, for example, pictured even though the wood flooring is a medium tone the surrounds are lighter, making the room look expensive, but yet the boundaries of the floor are solid making one feel more grounded.
  • lepstein
    10 år siden
    Obviously, DJ, rules are made to be broken. I have a light wood floor with strong yellow walls (although, admittedly the wide white baseboards break up the colour). Every time I go into the room, I want to dance. My living room has "yellowed-over-the-years" wood floors and strong grey-blue walls (again with deep white baseboards) and it is extremely calming (the area rug is navy, which leads me to remind those who want dark to remember that you will see every speck of dust). I have a bedroom with the same older wood floors and navy walls, as well as a navy and white kitchen with soft yellow tiles. I love both. Only room in my house in which I would change the colour (of the walls, not the floor as it flows throughout) is a beige bedroom. I would darken the walls as the current colour is too close to the depth of the floor colour.
  • PRO
    HomeScapes Home Staging San Diego
    10 år siden